Holiday Humbug

So I know I promised pictures of Henry’s birthday, but they are currently sitting on our desktop that decided to die last month. Hence the scarcity of my updating!

We are getting ready to start a crazy week of Christmas celebrations with family. While I do love the holidays, especially Christmas, I find myself in somewhat of a scroogey disposition this year. I don’t know if it is because there was not very much time between Thanksgiving and Christmas to really get in the mood, or if it is just some other things going on in our lives, but I just don’t have any Christmas spirit this year. On the other hand, it makes it quite easy to really focus on the real reason for Christmas since I have no desire to buy, wrap, or get caught up in any kind of holiday festivities.Our computers dying over the last month or so and our car quitting on us this week have added stress to an already stressful time of year. All in all though, I find myself so much more thankful for family and friends who surround and encourage us. I am thankful for time to teach or kids about Christ and Christmas. We have decided to do 4 gifts for our kids this year- something they want, something they need, something to wear, and something to read. Keeping it simple has been my mantra this year and is carrying over throughout the holidays. This is the first Christmas with the girls that they will actually understand what is going on and we are so happy to be able to make our own family traditions!  This is the first Christmas in our new house that is just us! The girls have been keeping us quite entertained with thier “understanding” of Christmas traditions and renditions of Christmas songs. Avery’s favorite song right now is “Giggle Balls” (Jingle Bells). She walks all around the house around the house singing.

I am hoping I will really be able to get Henry’s birthday pictures, and pictures from Christmas, up after the craziness of this next week dies down and I figure out how to get them uploaded here with my phone.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year’s from my family to yours!

Leave a Reply

