Family Fun

I have decided to start trying to update the blog while I am at work since it seems about the only time that I have to really sit down and update our life. I will try to remember to go back and add pictures when I get home and have a few free seconds.

We headed out to my parents house last week to spend some time with them. Daniel was going to work all week, but ended up getting most of the week off so we could spend some time as a family. We enjoyed just spending time with my Mom and Dad and my brother and sister. We were able to spend some time with my best friend Amber and her husband Jared. We were also able to meet Miss Claire, who is just too stinkin’ cute. It really stinks that we live so far away from them. I really wish we were closer as phone calls are not enough!  We also spent some time at Antietam and Harpers Ferry. Savannah really enjoyed looking around and seeing the different things (even if she did not understand what was going on). We went to a few yard sales with my sister and found a sweet kitchen table.

I can not remember much about the few weeks before we left for my parent’s house, mostly because it was so busy it all seems like a blur, but we had dinner with Grannie and Grandpa, a reunion with the Dougherty’s and we helped Dan’s parents put up 17 dozen ears of corn.

Savannah got invited to her first “real” birthday party that she will be going to on Saturday. She is so excited about the princess party and even got to pick out the gift for Joy. It is so cute how she walks around the house talking about the party. Savannah is now 27 months old! She loves to tell people her name and is quite the talker. She is very friendly (sometimes too friendly for Mommy’s liking!).

Avery has had a lot of milestones these last few weeks. She has been getting around by army crawling for quite some time now, but she is much faster and takes 1 or 2 real crawls at a time now. She is pulling herself up to a standing position and holds on to furniture. She will be walking around on furniture in no time at the rate she is going. She is sitting up and holding herself up very well. She is now taking a bath with Savannah laying on her stomach and loves to splash around in the water. She is eating a ton and has been eating some table foods. Her eyes have almost completely cleared up. We are so thankful for those who have been praying for her. As long as we continue with the progress, we will probably call next week to cancel her surgery! Avery is 7 1/2 months old now. Hard to believe how fast time has flown.

We have been working on exploring our housing options and are getting closer to making some big decisions. We are excited to start the process of owning our own house here in Indiana!

Other than that, we have not had much changes and are enjoying just spending time together as a family.  Please keep me in your prayers as I have been really struggling with Savannah and discipline. She has learned how to push my buttons and I have not been responding as well as I should. I am praying for patience to deal with her appropriately and for my reactions to be calm and effective.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

